by Wendy L. Sellers, RN, MA, CPC

Puberty Education Curriculum for Students in Grades 4, 5, and 6

Puberty: The Wonder Years 2015 includes puberty education lessons for three consecutive years of instruction for students in grades 4, 5, and/or 6. Puberty: The Wonder Years focuses on:

Ø  Promoting appreciation and respect for the amazing changes experienced by self and others.

Ø  Equipping young people to postpone sexual intercourse. 

Designed for the school setting, Puberty: The Wonder Years also includes activities that involve parents and other family members with their children. It encourages children to talk with their parents about their family values and develops health skills children need to behave in a manner that is consistent with those values:

Ø  Communication

Ø  Limit setting

Ø  Refusal

Ø  Getting help

Ø  Making friends

Ø  Analyzing media messages

Ø  Distinguishing between reliable and unreliable sources of information

PWY 2015 covers

Puberty: The Wonder Years fills the gap created by the scarcity of sexuality education resources for upper elementary and early middle school-aged students. Guided by the characteristics of effective sex and HIV education programs outlined in Emerging Answers 2007, by Dr. Douglas Kirby, the lessons teach the skills needed to promote respect and postpone sexual activity. Teaching these lessons over three years provides a solid foundation for subsequent implementation of “Programs That Work” for sexuality education and HIV prevention at higher grades. All lessons are aligned to the National Health Education Standards, the National Sexuality Education Standards, and English Language Arts Common Core.

For more information, visit and read the following: